## September 12, 2006

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Community Corrections Planning Council was called to order this 12<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2006, in the conference room of the Cleveland County Fairgrounds, 605 E. Robinson, Norman, Oklahoma, by Chairman Dave Stockwell. Roll was called by Dorinda Harvey, County Clerk/Secretary and those present were:

Dave Stockwell, Chairman Melissa Houston, Vice-Chairman Dorinda Harvey, Secretary William C. Hetherington, Member Leroy Krohmer, Member Libba Smith, Member

Members F. DeWayne Beggs, Waldo Blanton, and Tim Kuykendall were absent.

Others present were: Christine Brannon, Debbie Cox, Tracy Ramirez, Sid Stell, Wayne Barnes, and Carmen Jackson.

Chairman Stockwell asked if the Council was in compliance with the Open Meetings Act. Dorinda Harvey answered in the affirmative.

After the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of August 8, 2006, and there being no additions or corrections, William C. Hetherington moved that the minutes be approved. Leroy Krohmer seconded the motion.

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

Dave Stockwell moved, seconded by Melissa Houston, to table discussion, consideration, and/or action to approve the Review of the bills for the month of July, 2006. Chairman Stockwell stated the bills had not been submitted yet because of the new voucher system. The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

Leroy Krohmer moved, seconded by Dorinda Harvey, to approve the change of the meeting place for the remaining meetings for 2006.

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

Leroy Krohmer moved, seconded by William C. Hetherington, to approve the Staggering of the Terms of the Non-Statutory Members of the Council. Chairman three (3) years, Secretary two (2) years and all others one (1) year.

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

William C. Hetherington moved, seconded by Dorinda Harvey, to approve the Appointment or Re-Appointment of Non-Statutory Board Members. Chairman three (3) year appointment, Secretary two (2) year appointment and all others one (1) year appointment.

Those Non-Statutory Board Members being re-appointed are Dave Stockwell (Chairman), Melissa Houston (Vice-Chairman), Waldo Blanton, Libba Smith, and Dorinda Harvey (Secretary).

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

Chairman Stockwell called for discussion, consideration, and/or action on Incentives for Clients graduating from the program. Chairman Stockwell had an idea of a Community Sentencing Coin and he doesn't think they would be that expensive.

Dorinda Harvey inquired about how the coins would be paid for and Chairman Stockwell stated he had hoped that Carmen Jackson would have been here to tell the Council that it could use the 210 funds to pay for the coins. If not Chairman Stockwell thinks he can get some local assistance from businessmen and women. Chairman Stockwell asked if anyone was creative and if they could design something that the Council could give to a company to put the coin together and give the Council a better idea of what it might look like. The Council spoke about the coin that the District Attorney uses for Drug Court.

Judge Hetherington stated it would be nice to have something on the coin saying "Drug Free/Crime Free.

Chairman Stockwell asked if anyone had any ideas, to call him at his office or just leave a message with his secretary.

Libba Smith stated at the last meeting a party for the clients graduating had been discussed. Melissa Houston moved, seconded by Dave Stockwell, to table the discussion, consideration, and/or action on Incentive for Clients graduating from the program.

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.

Chairman Stockwell called for review status on Bench Warrant Executions and Arrest of Absconders.

Wayne Barnes stated he did not know of any absconders that had been arrested recently. Judge Hetherington spoke of one that had been an absconder for a long time that had been pickup in Oklahoma County.

Chairman Stockwell called for Presentation on Status Report from Oklahoma Court Services, Inc., and Wayne Barnes.

Wayne Barnes spoke of one client and what all had been filed on this one person along with the number of arrest.

Mr. Barnes also spoke about how hard it is to find absconders as family members hide them.

Judge Hetherington told the Council that the Anna McBride Mental Health Court is going well and spoke about it.

Chairman Stockwell asked Judge Hetherington if there was a way to get people out of Drug Court into the Mental Health Court.

Judge Hetherington stated yes but that the Department of Mental Health is reluctant to allow one that had been convicted to withdraw their plea and go back to square one and be deviated into the mental health court. Discussion took place.

There being no further business to come before the Council, Leroy Krohmer moved that the meeting be adjourned. Melissa Houston seconded the motion.

The vote was: Dave Stockwell, yes; Melissa Houston, yes; Dorinda Harvey, yes; William C. Hetherington, yes; Leroy Krohmer, yes; Libba Smith, yes. Motion carried.